GPR Awards – 2023 Formula 1 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

This year, Grand Prix Rejects has nothing new to say involving the travesty that is the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix. To avoid repeating ourselves, we will instead boycott discussing the event. For more information on why, please consult Amnesty International’s most recent report on the country.

Full Results

Race Control 25 (93%) Kevin Magnussen 10 (42%)
McLaren 2 (7%) Yuki Tsunoda 7 (29%)
Valtteri Bottas 0 (0%) No Award 7 (29%)
Number of votes: 27 Number of votes: 25

Disclaimer: The ROTR and IIDOTR awards are purely for fun purposes.

The IIDOTR is a democratically-decided award, based on the assumption that, at any moment in time, there is a non-zero probability that even the slowest, most inexperienced and least reliable of underdogs might win the race. That under every rock, there might be a gold nugget. This is the award for that first podium that we all celebrate, for the overtake no-one was expecting, for the underdog’s first win. This is the award, in short, for the driver or team that makes you go “Woah! Where did THAT come from?!”.

The ROTR is a medal of dishonour that celebrates the most noteworthy failure of a Grand Prix weekend, based on expectations heading into the weekend and general performance. That one brainfade, the silliest mistake or the most patent nonsense going on, all that is what being the ROTR is all about.

2023 Grand Prix Rejects Awards
2023 Season Preview
2023 Bahrain Grand Prix